Summer Memories

Standard

This week on Kelly’s Korner, the theme is kids activities, I am a Pre-K teacher so I have a ton since its all I do all day, but I thought I would just share all of the fun things I remember doing as a kid in the summer.

When I was little my mom would try and take us to the beach t least once a week, which might not sound hard but the beach is at least an hour away, and there are my 3 little sisters and I ( there is a 10 year span between all of us so when I say I was little I was probably 8 and she was pregnant and still had 2 kids) A lot of the time my grandma would go to and that was always a treat because that meant she could watch the little girls and my mom could come out in the water with us.

In two different towns close by there are good bagel stores and in the summer my mom would load us all up and we would go grab some bagels and then go to a park and play the morning away. This was really the only times we ever went to a park, we have a merry go round in the back yard,swing set that is park sized, a flipping bar, and a play house- no need really to leave!

(here is the flipping bar in its current state-one side of the compost heap!)

(here is the merry-go round,and play house, and a corner of the swing set, it has a big porch swing on it now)

When I go to be about 10 and my youngest sister was walking we started going on long family vacations, like 2 or 3 weeks on the road seeing all of the western states, and a ton of national parks.Zion National Park will always be a favorite. As is Ghost Ranch, I worked as a camp counsler there for 4 summers in my early 20’s and I have some great memories of the place.

From the summer before third grade until the summer of 7th grade I went to church camp for a week or 2 every summer,different camps with different people but it was alway a blast.

We usually made a lemonade stand at least once in the summer. We would play night tag with the neighbors, swim of course.

I do have a sunny story about swimming in the summer as a kid. So I live in southern California and 20 years ago the smog could get pretty bad some days. We live in a valley outside of LA and the wind would blow the smog in and then it had a hard time getting over the mountains. It has gotten soooooo much better just in my life time, we hardly ever have those days anymore thank goodness! so when we would go swimming we would swim for hours and when we where done our lungs would hurt and there was this odd feeling when your breathed. As a kid I always thought that it was from swimming come to find out as a teenager it was from the smog-duh! I just never put it together.

When I was in about 2nd grade all the way to 6th grade or so my friend and I would switch off going to each others house all summer long that was always neat.

There are so many neat traditions we have that there is no way I will ever be able to write them all down, but its fun thinking about them.

Leave a Reply

